The rate sheet / Sacramento Municipal Utility District

Time-of-Day (5–8 p.m.)

Weekday peak prices from 5 to 8 p.m., with a summer midday period and off-peak weekends and specified holidays.

Official schedule
RT02
Verified
2026-09-22
Rate version
2026 prices · HGA cycle beginning May 1
Utility time zone
America/Los_Angeles
Coverage note

Verified under stated conditions. Ordinary individually metered residential service with a communicating meter. Check the requirements for your account before comparing plans. A plan name alone does not establish enrollment eligibility.

Electricity & the hours you use it.

The price of a kWh changes with the clock. This is how a weekday looks in July.

A day on this rateJuly weekday · no holiday · local utility time
Off-peak
$0.1550 / kWh
Mid-peak
$0.2139 / kWh
Peak
$0.3765 / kWh

Base electricity price only. Additional charges and credits appear below. Summer · June–September. Time zone: America/Los_Angeles.

The exact energy prices

Base energy prices exclude the additional charges listed in the next section. Dollars per kWh; rates retain their published precision.

Rate version smud-tod-2026-05 · USD per kWh
Season / componentPeriod$/kWh
Electricity usage

Non-summer · October–May

Off-peak$0.1285
Electricity usage

Non-summer · October–May

Peak$0.1776
Electricity usage

Summer · June–September

Off-peak$0.1550
Electricity usage

Summer · June–September

Mid-peak$0.2139
Electricity usage

Summer · June–September

Peak$0.3765

Weekday time windows

  • Summer · June–Septembernoon–5 p.m.Mid-peak. Excludes listed holidays.
  • Summer · June–September5 p.m.–8 p.m.Peak. Excludes listed holidays.
  • Summer · June–September8 p.m.–midnightMid-peak. Excludes listed holidays.
  • Non-summer · October–May5 p.m.–8 p.m.Peak. Excludes listed holidays.

Weekends & holidays

Fixed-date holidays use their actual calendar date. An adjacent observed weekday is not automatically off-peak.

View the utility holiday calendar

New Year’s Day; Juneteenth; Independence Day; Veterans Day; Christmas Day; Martin Luther King Jr. Day; Presidents Day; Memorial Day; Labor Day; Indigenous Peoples’ Day / Columbus Day; Thanksgiving Day.

The rest of the bill.

These charges and credits sit alongside electricity usage. Each applies in the documented order and uses the basis shown.

Fixed chargeSystem Infrastructure Fixed Charge
$27.00 / month
One monthly charge for a normal bill; bills shorter than 27 days use days/30. Rate follows the last included service date.
AdjustmentHydro Generation Adjustment
$0.0000 / kWh
Current zero is verified, not an assumed omission. Current annual HGA cycle begins May 1, 2026.
TaxCalifornia Energy Resources Surcharge
$0.0003 / kWh
Applied to all imported kWh; excluded from City of Sacramento tax base.
TaxCity of Sacramento utility user tax
7.5 %
Ordinary city account, no exemptions. 7.5% of electric service charges; state surcharge excluded.

Basis: energy, sifc, hga

Does this cover your account?

A useful comparison begins with the right service conditions. Confirm these against your bill and the utility’s enrollment rules.

Plan eligibility

  • Customer typeRequired: residential

    This version covers ordinary residential service.

  • Metering arrangementRequired: individual

    Master-metered and combined-meter service are outside this comparison.

  • Electrical serviceRequired: single

    Three-phase service can incur an additional special-facilities fee.

  • Meter typeRequired: communicating

    TOD requires a communicating meter; Fixed non-communicating-meter charges need separate review.

  • On-site generationRequired: none

    Generation and export require separate tariffs.

  • Battery storageRequired: none

    Storage is outside this release; battery-only customers cannot enroll in Fixed Rate.

  • SolarShares participationRequired: no

    SolarShares participants cannot enroll in Fixed Rate.

  • Rate change eligibilityRequired: eligible

    Confirm SMUD permits the proposed switch after the next regular billing period; normally one change per 12 months.

Conditions for a complete recurring-charge estimate

  • Tax jurisdictionRequired: sacramento city

    Only the ordinary City of Sacramento 7.5% electricity tax is fully modeled; other or unknown jurisdictions produce partial estimates.

  • Discount programsRequired: none

    EAPR, medical and EV discounts require separate verified calculations.

  • Optional programs and donationsRequired: none

    Optional programs, including renewable subscriptions and HomePower, are not included.

  • Special facilities and service feesRequired: none

    Special metering or facilities require additional charges.

  • Utility tax exemptions or creditsRequired: none

    Low-income municipal tax relief and other tax exemptions need separate verification.

Outside the modeled bill

  • Prior balances, late fees and service-event charges
  • Optional programs, discounts and customer-specific credits

Dates, billing periods & rounding.

The verified combined version covers 2026-05-01 through 2026-12-31. Energy follows each service interval. Base prices took effect January 1, 2026. This combined snapshot starts May 1 to match the currently verified annual HGA cycle. SIFC follows the billing period end date.

My Power Rates rounds each season/period energy line and each other charge to cents, half up, then sums. Official examples corroborate ordinary cents; utility tie-breaking and hidden meter precision are not published.

  • This is a modeled recurring-service calculation, not a guarantee that a utility bill will match to the cent.
  • Historic HGA before May 1, 2026 is not verified in this snapshot.
  • City tax is fully covered only for ordinary taxable City of Sacramento accounts; ZIP code alone does not establish jurisdiction.
  • SMUD must confirm enrollment and the effective switch date.
  • Fixed-date holidays do not move to a neighboring observed weekday.

Put the rate against your usage.

A scenario applies this verified version to your supplied usage pattern. It is not a future bill forecast.

Calculate with my usage
Read the calculation method →

Sources & verification

Official documents take precedence over summary tables. Rates are independently transcribed facts; linked documents retain their publishers’ rights.

  1. SMUD Rate Schedule R-TOD
    Sheets R-TOD-1 through R-TOD-5; II.A, V and VI · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2025-06-20.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 9be2f188d4bb39b4bb6436a9a37035457d0e0ab51f769fe995f58ca35422accd
  2. SMUD Hydro Generation Adjustment
    HGA-1 applicability; HGA-3 section VI · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2023-09-22.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 81cf503ac6e3f2afe27be1e6e2ffeb63fac9b5f95b8420514a6dc16aaa5d3da2
  3. SMUD current surcharges
    State surcharge and Adjustments sections · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Current page states HGA zero; HGA schedule establishes annual May-April application. May 1, 2026–April 30, 2027 is an explicit inference combining those sources; no pre-May 2026 HGA claim.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 3a52caaaf763ed7538fc6ed4d6fee90c5402a8b9c289e0117b9b74ae0e8bdf0d
  4. SMUD TOD rate details and holidays
    Holiday calendar and footnote · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 31602683b0cc230c87bb1edcc3cb522225736340a2d7188d8aacc879975b9618
  5. SMUD Fixed Rate eligibility
    Eligibility note · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 a280f6beb0c916fd95d2098c97c5387d16b5e2a51bb52f01845c5d32e43d72da
  6. SMUD application of rates and rate options
    Rule 12, II · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2017-07-01.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 c01a4f6d56d0bee7724d4d5b267ec9b061b539e9ca041e1cfa8d5a87925459ae
  7. SMUD billing, payment and credit
    Rule 6, I and II · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2025-06-20.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 2595af3c547eb2c67369a27131c308bb8aea624c3e4eb813c7e0a4e0335cc957
  8. City of Sacramento utility user tax
    Utility User Tax main content · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Official city page states 7.5% electricity rate; underlying code sections 3.32.050 and 3.32.060 corroborate 5% plus 2.5%.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 fdde98525c1b096f0a206493e7f1b94ffc8e1ec83b1b53d256f39e4636a6d4d4
  9. Sacramento utility user tax code attachment
    PDF page 6: sections 3.32.050 and 3.32.060 · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2024-11-07.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Official city meeting attachment read, then cross-checked current 2026 S-4 code online and current official city tax webpage. No open license asserted.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 74ee77895fbfe5ce3354ff745482b9a83dd7495496c2bab3dd27976a1c8c9e24
  10. SMUD 2026 TOD illustrative bill
    Electricity Charges table · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Visually inspected and independently recomputed. Demonstrates city tax on electricity plus SIFC, excluding state surcharge; illustrative example, not independent authority for rates or historical HGA.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 7568d1ca7637bfd612c582cf8b42322226ccd5354a78eaccaa5c6ab379331261
  11. SMUD 2026 Fixed illustrative bill
    Electricity Charges table · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Visually inspected and independently recomputed. Illustrative bill supports tax base and ordinary cent rounding; not proof of tie-breaking policy.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 5fe6174c01a7a6bd45d509c733b6cbe0fa06be271bba254ae71975b469d42fad
  12. SMUD terms and conditions
    General use restrictions · Verified 2026-09-22
    Evidence record

    Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.

    Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.

    No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.

    SHA-256 aff29d5285295cccca85b6e1a26129149952c06f4b60fb544107ee9e89aa5e4a