The rate sheet / Sacramento Municipal Utility District
Fixed Rate
One energy price at every hour within each season, plus fixed charges, adjustments and applicable taxes.
- Official schedule
- RF01
- Verified
- 2026-09-22
- Rate version
- 2026 prices · HGA cycle beginning May 1
- Utility time zone
- America/Los_Angeles
Verified under stated conditions. Ordinary individually metered residential service with a communicating meter. Check the requirements for your account before comparing plans. A plan name alone does not establish enrollment eligibility.
Electricity & the hours you use it.
The base price stays the same throughout the day. Seasonal prices and additional bill charges still apply where shown.
- All day
- $0.2189 / kWh
Base electricity price only. Additional charges and credits appear below. Summer · June–September. Time zone: America/Los_Angeles.
The exact energy prices
Base energy prices exclude the additional charges listed in the next section. Dollars per kWh; rates retain their published precision.
| Season / component | Period | $/kWh |
|---|---|---|
| Electricity usage Non-summer · October–May | All day | $0.1371 |
| Electricity usage Summer · June–September | All day | $0.2189 |
Weekday time windows
The price does not vary by hour. Seasonal rates, adjustments and bill-level tiers still apply where shown.
The rest of the bill.
These charges and credits sit alongside electricity usage. Each applies in the documented order and uses the basis shown.
- Fixed chargeSystem Infrastructure Fixed Charge
- $27.00 / month
- One monthly charge for a normal bill; bills shorter than 27 days use days/30. Rate follows the last included service date.
- AdjustmentHydro Generation Adjustment
- $0.0000 / kWh
- Current zero is verified, not an assumed omission. Current annual HGA cycle begins May 1, 2026.
- TaxCalifornia Energy Resources Surcharge
- $0.0003 / kWh
- Applied to all imported kWh; excluded from City of Sacramento tax base.
- TaxCity of Sacramento utility user tax
- 7.5 %
- Ordinary city account, no exemptions. 7.5% of electric service charges; state surcharge excluded.
Basis: energy, sifc, hga
Does this cover your account?
A useful comparison begins with the right service conditions. Confirm these against your bill and the utility’s enrollment rules.
Plan eligibility
- Customer typeRequired: residential
This version covers ordinary residential service.
- Metering arrangementRequired: individual
Master-metered and combined-meter service are outside this comparison.
- Electrical serviceRequired: single
Three-phase service can incur an additional special-facilities fee.
- Meter typeRequired: communicating
TOD requires a communicating meter; Fixed non-communicating-meter charges need separate review.
- On-site generationRequired: none
Generation and export require separate tariffs.
- Battery storageRequired: none
Storage is outside this release; battery-only customers cannot enroll in Fixed Rate.
- SolarShares participationRequired: no
SolarShares participants cannot enroll in Fixed Rate.
- Rate change eligibilityRequired: eligible
Confirm SMUD permits the proposed switch after the next regular billing period; normally one change per 12 months.
Conditions for a complete recurring-charge estimate
- Tax jurisdictionRequired: sacramento city
Only the ordinary City of Sacramento 7.5% electricity tax is fully modeled; other or unknown jurisdictions produce partial estimates.
- Discount programsRequired: none
EAPR, medical and EV discounts require separate verified calculations.
- Optional programs and donationsRequired: none
Optional programs, including renewable subscriptions and HomePower, are not included.
- Special facilities and service feesRequired: none
Special metering or facilities require additional charges.
- Utility tax exemptions or creditsRequired: none
Low-income municipal tax relief and other tax exemptions need separate verification.
Outside the modeled bill
- Prior balances, late fees and service-event charges
- Optional programs, discounts and customer-specific credits
Dates, billing periods & rounding.
The verified combined version covers 2026-05-01 through 2026-12-31. Energy may be allocated by billing days when a bill crosses a season or price change; this model uses the tariff’s day-weighted rule. Base prices took effect January 1, 2026. This combined snapshot starts May 1 to match the currently verified annual HGA cycle. SIFC follows the billing period end date.
My Power Rates rounds each season/period energy line and each other charge to cents, half up, then sums. Official examples corroborate ordinary cents; utility tie-breaking and hidden meter precision are not published.
- This is a modeled recurring-service calculation, not a guarantee that a utility bill will match to the cent.
- Historic HGA before May 1, 2026 is not verified in this snapshot.
- City tax is fully covered only for ordinary taxable City of Sacramento accounts; ZIP code alone does not establish jurisdiction.
- SMUD must confirm enrollment and the effective switch date.
- Fixed-date holidays do not move to a neighboring observed weekday.
- The tariff permits day-weighted seasonal proration; bills using a different actual meter allocation can differ.
Sources & verification
Official documents take precedence over summary tables. Rates are independently transcribed facts; linked documents retain their publishers’ rights.
- SMUD Rate Schedule R
Sheets R-1 through R-4; II.A and V · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2025-06-20.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 2bc1beb88755f70db7f3bdce0b516a80946524455188bfae7eda5a5d68da555b - SMUD Hydro Generation Adjustment
HGA-1 applicability; HGA-3 section VI · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2023-09-22.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 81cf503ac6e3f2afe27be1e6e2ffeb63fac9b5f95b8420514a6dc16aaa5d3da2 - SMUD current surcharges
State surcharge and Adjustments sections · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Current page states HGA zero; HGA schedule establishes annual May-April application. May 1, 2026–April 30, 2027 is an explicit inference combining those sources; no pre-May 2026 HGA claim.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 3a52caaaf763ed7538fc6ed4d6fee90c5402a8b9c289e0117b9b74ae0e8bdf0d - SMUD TOD rate details and holidays
Holiday calendar and footnote · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 31602683b0cc230c87bb1edcc3cb522225736340a2d7188d8aacc879975b9618 - SMUD Fixed Rate eligibility
Eligibility note · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 a280f6beb0c916fd95d2098c97c5387d16b5e2a51bb52f01845c5d32e43d72da - SMUD application of rates and rate options
Rule 12, II · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2017-07-01.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 c01a4f6d56d0bee7724d4d5b267ec9b061b539e9ca041e1cfa8d5a87925459ae - SMUD billing, payment and credit
Rule 6, I and II · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2025-06-20.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 2595af3c547eb2c67369a27131c308bb8aea624c3e4eb813c7e0a4e0335cc957 - City of Sacramento utility user tax
Utility User Tax main content · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Official city page states 7.5% electricity rate; underlying code sections 3.32.050 and 3.32.060 corroborate 5% plus 2.5%.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 fdde98525c1b096f0a206493e7f1b94ffc8e1ec83b1b53d256f39e4636a6d4d4 - Sacramento utility user tax code attachment
PDF page 6: sections 3.32.050 and 3.32.060 · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date: 2024-11-07.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Official city meeting attachment read, then cross-checked current 2026 S-4 code online and current official city tax webpage. No open license asserted.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 74ee77895fbfe5ce3354ff745482b9a83dd7495496c2bab3dd27976a1c8c9e24 - SMUD 2026 TOD illustrative bill
Electricity Charges table · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Visually inspected and independently recomputed. Demonstrates city tax on electricity plus SIFC, excluding state surcharge; illustrative example, not independent authority for rates or historical HGA.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 7568d1ca7637bfd612c582cf8b42322226ccd5354a78eaccaa5c6ab379331261 - SMUD 2026 Fixed illustrative bill
Electricity Charges table · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Visually inspected and independently recomputed. Illustrative bill supports tax base and ordinary cent rounding; not proof of tie-breaking policy.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 5fe6174c01a7a6bd45d509c733b6cbe0fa06be271bba254ae71975b469d42fad - SMUD terms and conditions
General use restrictions · Verified 2026-09-22Evidence record
Retrieved 2026-09-22. Document date is not stated.
Manual review of PDF text/tables or HTML; images inspected visually. No automated interpretation of prices. Read official source; manually cross-checked rates and rules against the applicable tariff and current rate page.
No open republication license established. Raw documents stay in the private local evidence cache; publish original factual summaries and source links only. SMUD terms restrict reuse of proprietary materials.
SHA-256 aff29d5285295cccca85b6e1a26129149952c06f4b60fb544107ee9e89aa5e4a